Artistic Journeys

BOGOMIL’S CEREMONIAL STAGE: KASPAR AND HIS PROPS
After lengthy wrangling, dozens upon dozens of e-mail and several months, this above painting of mine is safely home again.
This painting had previously been shown in Paris last year, organized by my friend Liba Waring Stambollion for Dreams & Divinities, and it was a great show. Unfortunately the follow-up journey did not go so good when someone else combined this with another exhibition and brought the show to Germany. Following the German leg, Liba was left with the mess of a unresponsive gallery and poor attitude of the so called ‘curator’ who couldn’t care less about what happened after the show closed. Though it wasn’t Liba’s responsibility anymore, she tirelessly engaged herself trying to right things gone wrong. As of this writing, I think all the artists involved had their work finally returned. Interestingly enough, once I networked with several other friends in the business, I found that with this particular gallery, and curator, it had also created problems of a similar nature for them.
In contrast to this, I had nothing but great experience with an exhibition in Bad Säckingen, Germany, at the Villa Berberich, organized by Elena Romanzin and Frank von Düsterlho – here is a album from that exhibition: GRAND SALON 2017 Bad Säckingen and these were my works shown:

EROS THANATOS

ALPHA AND OMEGA – THE RECONSTRUCTION OF BOGOMIL’S UNIVERSE
I have nothing but praise for the professionalism of the organizers and this venue. I am also very thankful to my good friend Wolfram Schwertberger who offered to take care of my works following the show and to bring them to Vienna on his next visit. Wolfram had been very supportive of my work and I am indebted to him for all he has done so far. He has produced and distributed postcards of my work, the most recent of which is this work which I had shown previously at Kunstverein Brücke in Ansbach, Germany, organized by Udo Winkler:

BOGOMIL’S MONASTIC RETREAT
But all in all, the good experiences outweigh the bad – a link to a PDF document of my exhibitions is found here: CURRICULUM VITAE
Possibly I would participate in another show this Spring, featuring this work (stay tuned – it is juried, so wish me luck):

OUROBOROS PERPETUAL MOTION MACHINE
~ by ottorapp on February 21, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
